13 airports designated to process people returning to U.S. from restricted countries

Posted at 6:26 PM, Mar 13, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-13 21:30:04-04

SAN DIEGO (KGTV) -- Officials with the the Department of Homeland Security announced Friday plans to screen people returning from restricted countries.

American citizens, legal permanent residents, and their immediate families returning to the United States will be required to arrive at one of 13 airports for enhanced screening for coronavirus.

“While the overall risk of serious infection from the coronavirus to the general public remains low at this time, the Trump administration is taking these aggressive measures to keep the risk low, requiring all Americans returning from affected areas in Europe to be funneled through 13 airports for screening upon their return to the U.S.,” said Acting Secretary Wolf. “To minimize disruptions to travelers, TSA, CBP, and air carriers are working to identify qualifying passengers before their scheduled flights. These passengers will be rerouted to one of the 13 airports by their airline at no cost to them.”

Two of the 13 aiports are in California, Los Angeles and San Francisco.

· Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts
· Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
· Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas
· Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan
· Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
· Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
· John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
· Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California
· Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida
· Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
· San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
· Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
· Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

DHS said that after checking in with customs, arriving travelers will proceed to to enhanced entry screening where the passenger will be asked about their medical history, current condition, and asked for contact information for local health authorities.

"Passengers will then be given written guidance about COVID-19 and directed to proceed to their final destination, and immediately home-quarantine in accordance with CDC best practices," officials said.

Wolf acknowledged that the process maybe "disruptive" but is necessary to help prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

In a Wednesday evening address at the White House, Trump announced he would ban all travel from all European countries for 30 days. The United Kingdom is the lone exemption from the ban.

READ: Fact Check: President Trump's coronavirus address