NewsLocal News


San Diego County Representatives head to Washington for swearing in of 116th Congress

Government Shutdown Continues Into Weekend
Posted at 4:45 PM, Jan 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-02 19:46:06-05

SAN DIEGO (KGTV) -- On Thursday, January 3, the newest members of Congress will head to Washington D.C. to be sworn in.

Among them is Mike Levin, who will represent California's 49th Congressional District. Levin, an environmental attorney, ran a campaign focused on younger voters.

During the campaign, he cast his opponent, Diane Harkey as a “rubber stamp" for President Donald Trump. The district was previously represented by Darrell Issa.

Juan Varges of the 51st Congressional District will also head to Washington. Varges made headlines recently after pointing the finger at the Trump administration for the situation at the border after hundreds of migrants rushed the San Ysidro Port of Entry.

The 51st Congressional District consists of south San Diego County, Imperial County and California’s entire U.S./Mexico border.

Also in Washington for the swearing in is Congressman Scott Peters of California’s 52nd District. The district includes the cities of Coronado and Poway as well as most of northern San Diego.

Peters was first elected in 2012. In 2018, Peters introduced legislation to provide a tax credit who paid more than 30 percent of their gross income on rent and utilities.

Rep. Susan Davis was re-elected in 2018 and represents California’s 53rd Congressional District. The district stretches from I-5 and Balboa Park through Mission Valley to East County and includes much of the heart of San Diego.

Davis has been serving the district since 2001 and in 2018, won against her opponent, Morgan Murtaugh.

Heading to Washington also is Congressman Duncan Hunter of California’s 50th Congressional District. Hunter has served the district since 2008 and recently made headlines after being indicted for alleged misuse of campaign funds.