NewsLocal News


San Diego County schools make 2020 California Distinguished Schools list

Posted at 1:05 PM, Dec 18, 2019
and last updated 2019-12-18 16:05:03-05

SAN DIEGO (KGTV) -- Several San Diego County schools are being honored as part of the 2020 California Distinguished Schools Award Program.

The program recognizes schools based on performance and progress on state indicators. Those indicators include test scores, suspension rates and conditions and climate, according to the State Superintendent.

Schools hold their titles for two years because elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized on alternate years.


“These outstanding schools don’t just educate students; they also provide the young people of California the tools they need to be successful after graduation,” State Superintendent Tony Thurmond said. “Thanks go to all the staff at these schools—teachers, administrators, classified employees—and parents, who are working together to provide high-quality educational experiences for all of their students.”

See the list of San Diego County schools that made the list below:

  • EastLake Elementary
  • Heritage Elementary
  • Valle Lindo Elementary
  • Maryland Avenue Elementary
  • Lakeside Farms Elementary
  • Birney Elementary
  • Crown Point Elementary
  • Dingeman Elementary
  • Ericson Elementary
  • Hancock Elementary
  • Hawthorne Elementary
  • Jerabek Elementary
  • Jonas Salk Elementary
  • Rolando Park Elementary
  • SD Global Vision Academy
  • PRIDE Academy at Prospect Avenue
  • Casita Center for Science/Math/Technology