SAN DIEGO -- According to the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence and the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence , California has some of the strictest gun laws in the country.
In California, there are several steps that must be taken in order to legally purchase and own a gun.
On the California Department of Justice website:
“… all firearms purchases and transfers, including private party transactions and sales at gun shows, must be made through a California licensed dealer under the Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) process. California law imposes a 10-day waiting period before a firearm can be released to a purchaser or transferee.”
According to the California DOJ , a person must be at least 18 years old to buy a rifle or shotgun. In order to buy a handgun, a person must be at least 21 years old.
When asked about online sales or trades of firearms and ammunition, a DOJ spokesperson said generally, they do not regulate ammunition under state law.
“There are regulations against selling ammunition to minors, the possession of ammunition that can pierce metal or body armor, the restriction on who can possess ammunition on school grounds, and the possession of ammunition by prohibited person,” a spokesperson told Team 10 in an email.
The transfer of a firearm between a parent and child or a grandparent and grandchild is exempt from the dealer transfer requirement. The exemption does not apply to step-children/step-parents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles or cousins, according to the DOJ.
Recently, a local group was formed to advocate for gun rights in San Diego County.
San Diego County Gun Owners Political Action Committee formally launched in October as a response to various Second Amendment issues.
The group is focused on Second Amendment advocacy, gun community organizing, and fundraising.