10News KGTV wins 2018 Regional Murrow Award

10News KGTV wins 2018 Regional Murrow Award
10News KGTV wins 2018 Regional Murrow Award
Posted at 12:57 PM, Apr 27, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-27 15:57:28-04

SAN DIEGO (KGTV) – ABC10 KGTV is the only San Diego station to win a prestigious Edward R. Murrow Award in recognition of excellence in broadcast and digital journalism.

There were a record number of 4,400 entries this year.

With extensive coverage of the Lilac Fire, 10News at 11p.m. was recognized as the top newscast in the region, which includes Los Angeles, San Francisco and Las Vegas. The 10News team was successful in creating impactful stories and sharing real emotion of the people who were harmed by the fire, while also breaking new information on the cause of the fire.

“It’s a great team recognition for 10News. Everyone pitched in to help keep KGTV on air for 13+ hours when the Lilac Fire broke out. We knew how important it was for us to provide vital information to San Diegans during that emergency. We’re glad we were able to serve the community.” said Ed Chapuis, News Director – KGTV ABC 10News.

“When wildfires strike in San Diego County, news coverage is essential in helping save property and lives.” said Joel Davis, Vice President and General Manager at KGTV ABC10. “The 10News team truly differentiated itself by creating a digital mapping tool to show the evacuation zone, and we also dug into the cause of the fire. Investigators used the video we brought to their attention to help figure out how it started. “

RELATED: Lilac Fire Coverage - photos, map, video, stories, interactive

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.



About ABC10/KGTV & 10News


ABC10/KGTV is owned by The E.W. Scripps Company. 10News is committed to covering stories that matter in San Diego, asking tough questions, searching for answers and getting results. 10News is your first source for important news, featuring original content that will have everyone talking.

About Scripps

The E.W. Scripps Company (NYSE: SSP) serves audiences and businesses through a growing portfolio of television, radio and digital media brands. With 33 television stations, Scripps is one of the nation’s largest independent TV station owners. Scripps also runs an expanding collection of local and national digital journalism and in content businesses, including Newsy, the next- generation national news network; podcast industry leader Midroll Media; and fast growing national broadcast networks Bounce, Grit, Escape and Laff. Scripps also produces television shows including “Pickler & Ben”, runs an award-winning investigative reporting newsroom in Washington, D.C., and is the longtime steward of the nation’s largest, most successful and longest-running educational program, the Scripps National Spelling Bee. Founded in 1878, Scripps has held for decades to the motto, “Give light and the people will find their own way.”