Mother: Oceanside motel allowed strangers in my room

SoCal family was staying at the Super 8
Posted at 7:16 PM, Aug 01, 2017
and last updated 2017-08-02 13:30:00-04

OCEANSIDE, Calif. (KGTV) - A Southern California family wants answers after they say strangers were allowed inside their motel room.

Fontana resident Julia Campos said she wanted to go to San Diego to enjoy a weekend out of town. She booked two nights at the Super 8 in Oceanside. The cost was about $256 dollars.

When she returned with her husband and son from a day at Legoland on Sunday night, their motel key would not work. Then, she got a big surprise.

“To our shock, a guy opens the door to our room. He opens our door and we were like, what are you doing in here? All our personal stuff is in here, our luggage, our clothes,” Campos said.

She said four strangers were inside the room, next to their belongings. Campos confronted the employees, who she said admitted the error. 

Campos said she was told a full refund would be given.

“We’re thinking, okay they refunded the money to us… My husband checks his account and it says they charged us twice," Campos said.

Team 10 went to the motel to try and get an explanation. When asked if Team 10 could get his side of the story, the man at the front counter said “no.” He then asked Team 10 to leave.

By Tuesday afternoon, the overcharge was removed, but Campos said she is still waiting for the full refund.

“We don’t want this to happen to anybody else,” Campos said.

Team 10 called the motel late Tuesday afternoon, but the man who answered the phone did not want to give an official comment.

Oftentimes, a refund could take a couple days, if not longer. Campos said if a refund is not given, they may look into filing a small claims case.