NewsLocal News


New San Diego City Council members sworn in

San Diego city council
Posted at 8:30 AM, Dec 10, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-10 21:31:43-05

SAN DIEGO (CNS and KGTV) - The newly elected San Diego City Council members from districts 2, 4 and 8, as well as re-elected District 6 City Councilman Chris Cate, were sworn in Monday.

Outgoing council members Lorie Zapf and David Alvarez gave parting remarks at the ceremony where incoming members Jennifer Campbell, Monica Montgomery and Vivian Moreno were officially welcomed to the 72nd City Council. Outgoing District 4 City Council President Myrtle Cole did not attend.

Campbell, a physician and a Democrat who defeated Zapf, a Republican, in District 2 with nearly 58 percent of the vote, compared the job of a council member to her work as a family doctor.

"Each profession is focused on preventing and solving problems," she said. "In both, we listen to your problem, we learn the history of it, we make a diagnosis and provide a pathway to a cure. And that is how I will serve as District 2's representative in City Hall."

Campbell flipping Zapf's seat gives Democrats a 6-3 supermajority on the technically nonpartisan council for at least the next two years.

"When we work together and we focus less on politics and focus more on the priorities of our communities, there is no challenge too great or obstacle too high that we cannot overcome," Mayor Kevin Faulconer said.

Montgomery, a civil rights attorney, ousted Cole in District 4 by painting the incumbent as a City Hall insider out of touch with her own district. Montgomery finished with 57.7 percent of the vote and received the biggest applause, by far, of the four council members taking the oath of office.

"My prayer is that I never lose sight of the community that sent me to City Hall to do one job, and that is to advocate for you," Montgomery said. "On November 6, 2018, District 4 said `no more' ... No more giving away of our community resources to special interests, no more back-door deals to decide our community's fate, no more supporting leaders who abandon our community and no more leaving out children behind."

Montgomery said the City Council can do more to reach its climate action goals, examine police practices, and pursue economic justice. Despite being a Democrat, Cole was Faulconer's closest left-of-center ally on the council over the last two years.

“I’m confident that we’re going to work well with all of our colleagues... All of our colleagues,” said Council President Pro-Tem Barbara Bry.Moreno replaced her boss, the termed-out David Alvarez, in District 8. While she is expected by some City Hall observers to tread largely the same path as Alvarez did in his time on the council, her election signifies the first time in city history that a majority of the council members are women.

"This is an historic day for our city," said Councilwoman Barbara Bry. "We have five women -- five strong women from diverse backgrounds are going to constitute a majority of our San Diego City Council."

Moreno finished with 50.9 percent of the vote, 549 votes ahead of San Ysidro school board member Antonio Martinez.

"People want to know that City Hall is working for them, not for outside interests or those with their own agenda," Moreno said. "They want to know that their elected officials listen to them and do all they can to help. To the communities of District 8, I promise to bring City Hall to you."

Campbell, Montgomery and Moreno voted Monday afternoon with the rest of their council colleagues to elect Georgette Gomez as council president. She will set the agenda for future meetings.

Bry, Georgette Gomez and Chris Ward are the senior Democrats on the council. City Hall observers portray the vote as coming down to Gomez and Bry, the council's current president pro tem and a possible mayoral candidate in 2020.