21 San Diego schools received California Gold Ribbon designation

Posted at 11:03 AM, Apr 19, 2017
and last updated 2017-04-19 14:03:38-04

SAN DIEGO (KGTV)--Twenty-one local middle and high schools were recognized with the Gold Ribbon Schools award, the California Department of Education announced Tuesday. 

The Gold Ribbon designation replaces the older, well-known California Distinguished Schools Program and allows middle and high schools who have adopted a model program or practice with standards-based activities, strategies and practices. 

"These terrific schools are leading the way in embracing our new rigorous academic standards and showing others how to help students succeed on their way to 21st century careers and college," State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson said. 

The Gold Ribbon schools in San Diego are: 

  • Sullivan Middle School, Bonsal Unified
  • EJE Academies, Cajon Valley district
  • Aviara Oaks Middle School, Carlsbad Unified
  • Calavera Hills Middle, Carlsbad Unified
  • Classical Academy High School, Escondido Union
  • Del Lago Academy - Campus of Applied Science, Escondido Union
  • Fallbrook High School, Fallbrook Union
  • Grossmont High School, Grossmont Union
  • Santana High School, Grossmont Union
  • River Valley Charter School, Lakeside Union
  • Del Norte High School, Poway Unified
  • Mt. Carmel High School, Poway Unified
  • Oak Valley Middle School, Poway Unified
  • Rancho Bernardo High School, Poway Unified
  • San Marcos High School, San Marcos Unified
  • Bonita Vista High School, Sweetwater Union
  • Eastlake Middle School, Sweetwater Union
  • Otay Ranch High School, Sweetwater Union
  • Ranch Del Rey Middle School, Sweetwater Union
  • Mission Vista High School, Vista Unified
  • Rancho Buena Vista High School, Vista Unified

Sandy Coronilla is a KGTV digital producer. Follow her @10NewsSandy