Confusing, this is getting: Where 'Star Wars' films fit in the galaxy's timeline

Posted at 6:00 PM, May 29, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-29 21:02:19-04

(KGTV) — Disneyland's "Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge" is bringing together decades of "Star Wars" universe under one umbrella for fans young and old.

While planet Batuu's Black Spire Outpost promises to be packed with plenty of "Star Wars" goodies for any fan, some may not be as familiar with the films from previous or more recent years.

It's fair. There's a lot that's happened since 1977.

So if you find yourself treading through "Galaxy's Edge" perplexed by a certain point in the "Star Wars" timeline, study up on what happened and when:

(In order of occurrence in the "Star Wars" timeline)

Episode 1: The Phantom Menace
Theatrical release date: 1999
Anakin Skywalker, a young slave strong with the Force, meets two Jedi masters. Meanwhile, the Sith have returned in search of revenge against the Jedi.

Episode 2: Attack of the Clones
Theatrical release date: 2002
Growing strong with the Force, Anakin Skywalker must choose between his Jedi duty and forbidden love while a galactic civil war brews.

The Clone Wars television series
Theatrical release date: 2008
Jedi knights Anakin Skywalker, Obi-Wan Kenobu, and Yoda lead the fight against the Sith and maintain order in the galaxy.

Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith
Theatrical release date: 2005
Anakin Skywalker becomes seduce by the dark side, as his road to becoming Darth Vader begins.

Solo: A Star Wars Story
Theatrical release date: 2018
A young Han Solo joins with a band of galactic smugglers and finds a friend in a 190-year-old Wookie named Chewbacca.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
Theatrical release date: 2016
A young woman is pulled into the fight between the Rebels and Empire, as her family history is the link to destroying the Empire's greatest weapon.

Episode 4: A New Hope
Theatrical release date: 1977
Luke Skywalker starts his journey as he leaves his home planet and joins the Rebel Alliance to battle the Empire.

Episode 5: The Empire Strikes Back
Theatrical release date: 1980
As Luke Skywalker continues his training to become a Jedi knight, Darth Vader hunts for Luke and the Rebel Alliance.

Episode 6: Return of the Jedi
Theatrical release date: 1983
Luke Skywalker must face Darth Vader one last time, at the height of his Jedi powers. Meanwhile, the evil Emperor sets out to destroy the Rebels once and for all.

Episode 7: The Force Awakens
Theatrical release date: 2015
Three decades after the Empire's fall, a young forager is pulled into the battle between the Resistance and a new rising threat: The First Order.

Episode 8: The Last Jedi
Theatrical release date: 2017
As the First Order seeks to destroy what's left of the Resistance, Rey finds Luke Skywalker to begin her Jedi training.

Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker
Theatrical release date: 2019
Rey's journey continues as greatest evil returns and the Skywalker saga comes to a close.