San Diego Unified School District honoring Teachers of the Year at Day of the Teacher Celebration

Posted at 7:05 AM, May 09, 2017
and last updated 2017-05-09 10:05:23-04

SAN DIEGO (KGTV) - The San Diego Unified School District is celebrating National Teacher Appreciation Day on Tuesday with an event recognizing those who have been named the district's 2017 Teachers of the Year.

The district's annual Day of the Teacher Celebration will be held at Patrick Henry High School (6702 Wandermere Drive, San Diego, CA 92120) at 5 p.m. A reception will precede the event starting at 4:15 p.m.

The Teachers of the Year being recognized by the district:
-- Claudia Sanchez-Guevara, fifth-grade, Bethune K-8
-- Vanessa Hart, sixth- and seventh-grade English, De Portola Middle
-- Jean-Paul Balmat, music teacher, Mission Bay High

The runners-up that will be honored:
-- Robert Daluraya, science prep, Hickman Elementary
-- Denise Tayco, seventh-grade science, Pershing Middle
-- Jaime Brown, 12th-grade IB English and IB film, San Diego High School of International Studies

For more information on the May 9 event, click here