SD Council District 1 Race Heads For Runoff

Districts 9, 5, 3 Decided; Scott Sherman Wins District 7 Seat

Businessman Scott Sherman was the outright victor in the San Diego City Council District 7 race Wednesday, while businessman Ray Ellis and incumbent Councilwoman Sherri Lightner were headed for a runoff in District 1.

» Link: Latest Election Results» Sign Up For Breaking News Alerts» Like Us On Facebook» Follow Us On Twitter

Sherman finished with 51 percent of the vote, compared to 39.39 percent for home health advocate Mat Kostrinsky in the district that includes Tierrasanta, Del Cerro and San Carlos.

The area has been represented by Councilwoman Marti Emerald, who is moving over to newly created District 9, which runs from the College Area through part of City Heights to Southcrest. Emerald won that seat outright over challenger Mateo Camarillo.

In another competitive race, Ellis was the top vote-getter in District 1, which covers La Jolla and Carmel Valley, followed closely by Lightner. Neither earned the 50 percent of the vote needed to claim the seat outright.

Ellis told City News Service he was "honored" by the support of San Diegans in his district.

Incumbent Councilman Todd Gloria was returned to office without challenge in District 3, made up of downtown, Hillcrest and North Park.

Mark Kersey will succeed Councilman Carl DeMaio in District 5, which covers Mira Mesa, Scripps Ranch and Rancho Bernardo. He was unopposed. DeMaio vacated the seat to run for mayor.

Print this article Back to Top